No Life Is Too Broken For God

Yes, He can still fix you. He can, and He will. “The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still,” Exodus 14:14.
Yes, He can still fix you. He can, and He will.
“The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still,” Exodus 14:14.

Pain with a Purpose

He thought no one paid attention. He thought no one cared. He thought God wasn’t there.

Recaredo Gonzales, or Recca to some, started taking drugs when he was only 13 years old. He gambled, robbed, and womanized. He even had an encounter with death that was so close he could already taste it. He spent 16 years fighting drug addiction and convincing himself that people might still care. Unfortunately, everyone in his family seemed to have already given up on him.

After almost two decades, drugs and alcohol already took its toll on him. People were trying to kill him because he couldn’t pay the drugs he bought.

“I was inside my room and people were chasing me because I couldn’t pay them. Some of them even accused me of killing someone just to hunt me down and send me to jail,” Reca narrated, “I was begging and asking God to help me. I wanted to die and I let God know that I am surrendering everything to Him.”

When somebody knocked at the door of his room, he just closed his eyes thinking that somebody might just get in and try to kill him. Surprisingly, it was his niece holding a mobile phone. “I thought I was dreaming. My mom was on the other line asking how I was. Then she started saying things like she’ll help me pay everything just so I could move on and start a new life,” Recca shared.

“This needs to stop,” Recca told himself. Until now, he still couldn’t believe how God moved his mom’s heart to call and talk to him.

Then one night, Recca happened to watch The 700 Club Asia. He saw Mari Kaimo and Alex Tinsay praying for those people who are still struggling and wanting to ask God to be the center of their life. Recca prayed with them and accepted Jesus Christ as his Lord and Savior. That was the start of his journey with God.

He Can Redeem You

After paying all his debts and staying at a rehab center, a pastor visited Reca and helped him. He recalled reading Ephesians 2:8-10 and Romans 8:28 when he was at the lowest point of his life and still doubted if God could really redeem him.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose,” Recca quoted as he assured himself of God’s love for him and that the Creator of the universe really cares for him.

Presently, Recca actively works at a local church in Cavite where he serves as a pastor ministering to juvenile delinquents and former drug addicts.

He still smiles and cries whenever he remembers how God saved him. “There is real hope in Christ. We are limiting ourselves from experiencing that real joy because we are too focused on our struggles that we fail to acknowledge how much He loves us,” Recca shared.

Always remember, “God is always fighting for us, we just need to trust and believe in Him,” he said.

Leave a Reply

